Wizardry disk images: what now?

Having a problem downloading or using an Emulator. Not sure which Emulator to use. Post your questions here.

Wizardry disk images: what now?

Postby SmokelessJoe » Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:16 pm

I was ecstatic to see the original release of Wizardry - Proving Grounds of the Mad Overlord in the Roms/IBM/PC-5150/Boot-Disks section! Hooray!

I've downloaded and extracted the files, so now I have a couple .IMG files that are small enough to fit on a double-density (360 kB) floppy disk. So far so good.

But now I'm stuck. I'm a total noob and I have no idea what to do with these files now.

Is there IBM PC emulator that can boot from these .IMG files?

Is there any way I could burn these to a floppy disk? I have an old 486 desktop with a 5.25" drive running Windows 3.1, if that helps.

Any help appreciated!
SmokelessJoe
Next LVL Up at : 5

Fav System: Not Sure

Re: Wizardry disk images: what now?

Postby SmokelessJoe » Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:53 pm

I tried using DOSBox with no luck, but tantalizing results! Here's what happened:

Using the DOSBox command "boot", I can boot from a disk image. This should work great for old games that needed to be booted from a floppy, just like Wizardry. The command is:

boot /path/diskimage

If I try the boot command with the file I got from:

Wizardry - Proving Grounds of the Mad Overlord (198x)(Sir-Tech Software, Inc)[Orginal Release][Master Disk].zip

I get the error "Can't find system disk".

If, however, I try the boot command with the file:

Wizardry - Proving Grounds of the Mad Overlord (198x)(Sir-Tech Software, Inc)[Re-Release][Master Disk].zip

DOSBox boots it just fine and I can play the re-release version of Wizardry. Nice, but I wanted to play the original release.

Both files are from the Roms/IBM/PC-5150/Boot-Disks directory. It looks like it's just the "Original Release" that I can't use with DOSBox.

Any ideas on what to do now? I'd really like to play the Original Release version. Thanks!